Oregon Secretary of State


Native Peoples of Oregon

Mountain with yellow and orange sunset
Sunset and Mt. Adams from Harris Canyon Lane in Sherman County. (Oregon State Archives Scenic Image 20160616-3153​)
Oregon tribal governments are separate sovereigns with powers to protect the health, safety and welfare of their members and to govern their lands. This section describes each of the state's nine tribes with information about the economy, points of interest, history​ and culture.