About Us

​​​​The Oregon Secretary of State is one of three constitutional offices created at statehood. As an independent constitutional officer, the Secretary of State answers directly and solely to the people of Oregon.

​Our Mission​

Create broad and accessible pathways for Oregonians to interact with their state government.

Our Vision

We envision an Oregon without barriers where everyone has equitable access to our democracy, available tools to achieve economic success, our state resources are efficiently used and accountable to the public, and where we honestly acknowledge our state’s history. We lead with our values and believe every voice should be heard.

We Value

Access For All

We seek to identify and actively eliminate barriers.


We are honest and true with ourselves and others.


We share stories, using plain language to increase understanding and impact.


​We strive to understand all viewpoints.


Learn About the​​ Divisions

The Secretary of State presides over seven divisions.​ Learn more about each division:

  • Audits
  • Business Services
  • Corporation
  • Elections
  • Human Resources
  • Information Systems
  • State Archives