State Board of Pharmacy

State Office Building
The State Office Building in Portland houses the central offices of the State Board of Pharmacy. (Oregon State Archives Scenic Image 20090131-0230)​

Present Duties

The nine member board is appointed by the governor with five licensed pharmacists, two public members and two pharmacy technicians. There are 22 staff members led by the executive director. The board is responsible for regulating the practice of pharmacy and the manufacture and distribution of drugs through licensure, registration and compliance. Currently, there are 30,081 licensees, including individuals and drug outlets.

In 2018, the Public Health and Pharmacy Formulary Advisory Committee was established by law. This seven-member committee is appointed by the governor and consists of two physicians, two advanced practice nurses and three pharmacists. The committee recommends protocols and a formulary of drugs and devices to the board that a pharmacist may prescribe and dispense to a patient pursuant to a diagnosis by a qualified health care practitioner.​
Agency Website

Contact Information

Telephone: 971-673-0001
Fax: 971-673-0002
Contact: Jamal Fox​, Executive Director
Administrative Rules Coordinator: See Contact List for Pharmacy Board​

Legal & Legislative Information

Statutory Authority: ORS Chapters 475, 689

Budget Analysis - by Legislative Fiscal Office
Audit Reports - select agency from menu