Department of Education: Agency Subdivisions

State Board of Education

Address: 255 Capitol St. NE, Salem 97310-0203
Phone: 503-947-5667
Fax: 503-378-5156
Contact: Kimberly Howard, Chair
Statutory Authority: ORS 326.011–326.075

Duties and Responsibilities: The board provides leadership and vision for Oregon’s public schools and districts by enacting equitable policies and promoting educational practices that help students achieve educational and life success.

The Legislature created the board in 1951 to oversee the state’s schools. The board sets policies and standards for Oregon’s public school districts and educational service districts. All of these agencies have separate governing bodies responsible for transacting business within their jurisdictions.
The board is responsible for administrative rules that the Department of Education implements.
The board is comprised of seven members appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Senate. Five members represent Oregon’s five congressional districts, and two members represent the state at large. Members serve four-year terms and are limited to two consecutive terms. Board members elect their chair each year. The board meets at least six times per year, and the public is welcome to attend the meetings. 

Fair Dismissal Appeals Board

Address: 255 Capitol St. NE, Salem 97310-0203
Phone: 503-947-5915
Fax: 503-378-5156
Contact: Patricia Stoneroad, Complaint and Appeals Specialist
Statutory Authority: ORS 342.930

Duties and Responsibilities: The board consists of 24 members appointed by the governor from specific categories: six public school administrators, six contract teachers, six school board members and six who must have no occupational affiliation with a school district. Each category must be further distributed by size of school district. 

The board was created to hear appeals of teacher and administrator dismissals by school districts. Once an appeal is filed, a three-member panel is selected by the board’s executive secretary to hear the appeal and render a decision.

Quality Education Commission

Address: 255 Capitol St. NE, Salem 97310-0203
Phone: (503) 947-5670
Fax: 503-378-5156
Contact: Brian Reeder, Assistant Superintendent
Statutory Authority: ORS 327.497–327.506

Duties and Responsibilities: The commission was created in 2001 with the charge to identify educational best practices and to estimate the level of funding required to ensure that the state system of kindergarten through grade 12 public education meets the goals established in statute. To fulfill that charge, the commission researches educational best practices and estimates the costs of implementing them. The model used to estimate educational costs, known as the Quality Education Model, is maintained by the commission with assistance from the Department of Education. 

Early Learning Division

Address: 700 Summer St. NE, Suite 350, Salem 97301
Phone: 503-947-1400
Contact: Miriam Calderon, Director
Statutory Authority: ORS 326.425, 417.710, 417.727

Duties and Responsibilities: The division works to support Oregon’s young children and families, so they will have opportunities to learn and thrive. With a vision for a seamless education system from birth through college, the division was created in 2013 to focus on the future of children. 

The division’s work includes supporting safe early learning environments, improving the health and development of young children, ensuring children are entering school ready to learn, helping parents gain access to affordable, quality child care and helping to develop a professional early learning workforce.

Oregon School for the Deaf

Dr. Sharla Jones, Director
Address: 999 Locust St. NE, Salem 97301-5254
Phone: 503-378-3825; 
Video phone: 503-400-6180
Fax: 503-378-4701

Established in 1870, the Oregon School for the Deaf (OSD) enrolls students who, because of hearing impairment, require services and supports that are not provided through their regular public school. OSD is funded by legislative appropriation and is operated by the ODE. In 2018–2019, 130 students were enrolled at the school at no cost to their families. 

Youth Development Council and Division

Address: 255 Capitol St. NE, Salem 97310-0203
Phone: 503-378-5148
Contact: Brian Detman, Director
Statutory Authority: ORS 417.847, 417.850, 417.852–417.854, 417.855

Duties and Responsibilities: The council, created in 2012, oversees the Youth Development Division, which supports the education system by developing state policy and administering funding for community and school-based youth development programs, services and initiatives for youth ages six to 24. The council advocates for youth through changes in state law, policy and funding for programs and services that support youth education, career/workforce development and juvenile crime prevention.​