Oregon Secretary of State


Columbia River Gorge Commission

Present Duties

Columbia River Gorge
The Columbia River Gorge Commission works to protect the unique resources of the gorge on both sides of the river. (Oregon State Archives Scenic Image 20140501-7348​)
The commission was established by a compact between Oregon and Washington in 1987 in response to the 1986 National Scenic Area Act passed by Congress. The Act established the 292,500 acre Columbia River Gorge National Scenic Area. They work in partnership with the USDA Forest Service, six counties, 13 urban areas and four Columbia River treaty fishing tribes to implement a regional management plan that protects the scenic, natural, cultural and recreational resources of the Columbia River Gorge National Scenic Area and support the area’s economy when compatible with resource protections. 

The commission has 13 members: six appointed by each of the counties, three appointed by the Oregon governor, three appointed by the Washington governor and one representing the U.S. secretary of agriculture. The commission has eight staff specializing in land use planning and resource management.​
Agency Website

Contact Information

Mailing Address: PO Box 730, White Salmon, WA 98672
Telephone: 509-493-3323
Fax: 509-493-2229
Contact: Krystyna Wolniakowski, Executive Director

Public Information Officer: Krystyna Wolniakowski​

Legal & Legislative Information

Statutory Authority: ORS 196.150

Budget Analysis - by Legislative Fiscal Office
Audit Reports - select agency from menu