Oregon State Bar

yellow autumn leaves in the foreground with waterfall
Middle North Falls waterfall at Silver Falls State Park in the fall. (Oregon State Archives Photo)
Established in 1935, the Oregon State Bar is a public corporation and instrumentality of the Oregon Judicial Department that serves the public by regulating lawyers and improving access to justice and the delivery of legal services. The state bar oversees the admission and discipline of Oregon’s lawyers. It also operates a lawyer referral service and Tel-Law program, conducts continuing legal education programs, publishes legal and public service material, sponsors a legislative program to improve the laws and judicial system of Oregon, provides malpractice coverage for lawyers in private practice, distributes state funds allocated to legal service programs and monitors the programs for adherence to adopted standards.

Oregon State Bar Website

Board of Governors

Board of Governors: Michael Levelle, President, Portland, 2017; John R. Bachofner, Vancouver, 2019; James C. Chaney, Eugene, 2017; Christine R. Costantino, Portland, 2019; Eric Foster, Medford, 2020; Robert Gratchner, Public Member, 2019; Guy B. Greco, Newport, 2018; Ray Heysell, Immediate Past-President, Medford, 2016; John E. Mansfield, Portland, 2017; Eddie Medina, Hillsboro, 2020; Vanessa A. Nordyke, President-elect, Salem, 2018; Thomas C. Peachey, The Dalles, 2020; Per A. Ramfjord, Portland, 2018; Kathleen J. Rastetter, Oregon City, 2018; Liani JH Reeves, Portland, 2020; Julia C. Rice, Salem, 2019; Traci Rossi, Public Member, 2020; Kerry L. Sharp, Public Member, 2018; Kate von Ter Stegge, Portland, 2019; Elisabeth Zinser, Public Member, 2017 


Helen Hierschbiel, Chief Executive Officer
Address: 16037 SW Upper Boones Ferry Rd., PO Box 231935, Tigard 97281-1935
Phone: 503-620-0222; Toll-free: 1-800-452-8260
Fax: 503-684-1366