Yamhill County


white airplane
An airplane at the Evergreen Air & Space Museum in McMinnville. (Oregon State Archives Scenic Image​ 20141003-1560​)
County Seat: Courthouse, 535 NE Fifth St., McMinnville 97128
Phone: 503-434-7501 (General); 503-434-7530 (Court Administrator) 
Fax: 503-434-7553


Established: July 5, 1843
Elev. at McMinnville: 157'
Area: 718 sq. mi.
Average Temp.: January 39.0°  July 65.0°
Assessed Value: $10,457,434,932
Real Market Value: $20,045,715,356
(includes the value of non-taxed properties)
Annual Precipitation: 43.6"
Economy: Agriculture, wine production, manufacturing, forest products, dental instruments, education and health care

Related Resources

"County QuickFacts" (population and economic data from U.S. Census Bureau)
County Seat Map (from Google Maps)
County Map (from ODOT)

Incorporated Cities

Points of Interest

Linfield College, George Fox University, Herbert Hoover House, Yamhill County Historical Museum, Wheatland Ferry, Evergreen Aviation and Space Museum, Rogers Landing

History and General Information 

Created in 1843, Yamhill County was one of Oregon’s original four districts. Its current boundaries were established in 1860. The county was named after the Yamhelas, members of the Kalapuya Tribe, who lived along the Yamhill River in the western Willamette Valley.

Agriculture is still the county’s primary industry. Nursery and greenhouse crops; fruit trees, nuts, wine grapes, berries, hay, silage, field and grass seeds are major agricultural products. Yamhill County ranks sixth among the counties in annual market value of its agricultural production. Yamhill County is also the heart of Oregon’s wine industry. Over 80 wineries and 200 vineyards represent the largest concentration of wine growers and producers in any county in the state. One third of the county is covered with commercial timber. The mainstay of the western valley area is logging and timber products. With 276 manufacturers, Yamhill County produces everything from snack foods to rebar, timber products to plastic tubing and textiles to dental equipment.

County Officials

Commissioners—Chair Lindsay Berschauer 2025; Kit Johnston 2027, Mary Starrett 2027; Dist. Atty. Bradley Berry 2025; Assess. Derrick Wharff 2025; Clerk Keri Hinton 2027; ​Interim Sheriff Sam Elliott 2024; Treas. Kris Bledsoe 2025; Surveyor Jason Foose