Wasco County


yellow and purple flowers on rocky hillside
Balsamroot and lupine wildflowers near Tom McCall Preserve on Rowena Crest along the Historic Columbia River Highway in the Columbia River Gorge. (Oregon State Archives Scenic Image 20140501-7589​)
County Seat: Courthouse, 511 Washington St., The Dalles 97058
Phone: 541-506-2500 (General); 541-506-2700 (Court Administrator)
Fax: 541-506-2531


Established: Jan. 11, 1854
Elev. at The Dalles: 98'
Area: 2,396 sq. mi.
Average Temp.: January 33.4°  July 73.1°
Assessed Value: $2,716,171,881
Real Market Value: $6,928,713,957
(includes the value of non-taxed properties)
Annual Precipitation: 14.9"
Economy: Agriculture, forest products, manufacturing, electric power, aluminum and transportation

Related Resources

"County QuickFacts" (population and economic data from U.S. Census Bureau)
County Seat Map (from Google Maps)
County Map (from ODOT)

Incorporated Cities

Points of Interest

Columbia and Deschutes Rivers, Fort Dalles Museum, Pulpit Rock, The Dalles Dam, Celilo Converter Station, Confederated Tribes of the Warm Springs Reservation, Mount Hood, Sorosis Park, original Wasco County Courthouse, St. Peter’s Landmark, Columbia River Gorge Discovery Center

History and General Information 

Outline of state of Oregon with "Oregon Heritage Tradition" listed below.
Designation for the Wasco County Fair & Rodeo.
When the Territorial Legislature created Wasco County in 1854 from parts of Clackamas, Lane, Linn and Marion Counties, it embraced all of Oregon east of the Cascade Range, most of Idaho and parts of Montana and Wyoming. It was named for the Wasco, or Wascopam, Tribe.

Wasco’s county seat is The Dalles. Now the trading hub of north-central Oregon, The Dalles gained earlier fame as the town at the end of the Oregon Trail. Thousands of years before that, humans scratched pictographs on rocks overlooking the Columbia River in this area. Later, tribes gathered for generations near Celilo Falls to trade and fish. The county’s tribal heritage continues in evidence today.

County Officials

Commissioners—Scott Hege 2027, Steve Kramer 2025, Phil Brady 2027; Dist. Atty. Matthew Ellis 2025; Assess. Jill Filla Amery 2025; Clerk Lisa Gambee 2025; Sheriff Lane Magill 2025; Surv. Brad Cross; Treas. Elijah Preston 2025