Union County


building in LaGrande
Downtown La Grande. (Oregon State Archives Scenic Image 20160711-4020​)
County Seat: Union County Commissioners, 1106 K Ave., La Grande 97850
Phone: 541-963-1001 (General); 541-962-9500, ext. 232 (Court Administrator)
Fax: 541-963-1079


Established: Oct. 14, 1864
Elev. at La Grande: 2,788'
Area: 2,038 sq. mi.
Average Temp.: January 30.9°  July 70.4°
Assessed Value: $2,220,997,404
Real Market Value: $3,797,720,810
(includes the value of non-taxed properties)
Annual Precipitation: 18.79"
Economy: Agriculture, forest products, education and government

Related Resources

"County QuickFacts" (population and economic data from U.S. Census Bureau)
County Seat Map (from Google Maps)
County Map (from ODOT)

Incorporated Cities

Points of Interest

Meacham and Tollgate winter sports areas, Grande Ronde Valley, Eastern Oregon University (La Grande)

History and General Information 

Union County was created in 1864 and named for the town of Union, which had been established two years before and named by its founders for patriotic reasons during the Civil War. The county comprised a part of the northern portion of Baker County. In 1899, Union County gave up its eastern portion to Wallowa County.

The Grande Ronde Valley in Union County is nearly table flat and is covered with the rich silt of an old lake bed. Highly diversified, with a 160-day growing season and an annual rainfall of 20 inches, the valley boasts of never having had a general crop failure. The county’s 1,092 farms average 473 acres a unit.

Union County’s front door opens to the rugged Wallowa Mountains. Its back door faces the Blue Mountains, which attract hikers, skiers and hunters.

County Officials

Commissioners—Chair Paul Anderes 2027, Donna Beverage 2025, Matt Scarfo 2027; Dist. Atty. Kelsie McDaniel 2027; Assess. Cody Vavra 2025; Clerk Lisa Feik 2027; Sheriff Cody Bowen 2025; Surv. Rick G Robinson; Treas. Camee Jensen 2027; Co. Admin. and Chief Info. Officer Shelley Burgess