Multnomah County


pink, yellow, and red flowers in front of white buildings
Pioneer Courthouse Square in downtown Portland. (Oregon State Archives Scenic Image 20150605-3246​)
County Seat: 501 SE Hawthorne Blvd., Portland 97214
Phone: 503-823-4000 (General); 971-274-0500 (Court Administrator)
Web: multco.us 


Established: Dec. 22, 1854
Elev. at Portland: 77'
Area: 465 sq. mi.
Average Temp.: January 38.9° July 67.7°
Assessed Value: $92,500,160,930
Real Market Value: $204,108,620,153
(includes the value of non-taxed properties)
Annual Precipitation: 37.39"
Economy: Manufacturing, transportation, wholesale and retail trade, and tourism

Related Resources

"County QuickFacts" (population and economic data from U.S. Census Bureau)
County Seat Map (from Google Maps)
County Map (from ODOT) 

Incorporated Cities

Points of Interest

Oregon Historical Society, Oregon Museum of Science and Industry, Oregon Zoo, Portland Art Museum, Washington Park, International Rose Test Gardens, Japanese Gardens, Columbia River Gorge, Multnomah Falls, Blue Lake Park, Oxbow Park, Pittock Mansion, Port of Portland, Memorial Coliseum and Rose Quarter, Oregon Convention Center, Moda Center Arena, Vista House

History and General Information 

Lewis and Clark made note of "Multnomah," the tribal village on Sauvie Island, in 1805 and applied that name to all tribal people of the area. The name is derived from "nematlnomaq," probably meaning "downriver." Multnomah County was created from parts of Washington and Clackamas counties by the Territorial Legislature in 1854, five years before Oregon became a state, because citizens found it inconvenient to travel to Hillsboro to conduct county business.

The county is both the smallest in size and largest in population in Oregon. Over 50% of its people live in Portland, a busy metropolis dominated by rivers and greenery. The remaining area includes picturesque rural land, from pastoral farms on Sauvie Island to the rugged Columbia River Gorge and the western slopes of Mount Hood.

County Officials

Commissioners—Chair Jessica Vega Pederson 2027; Sharon Meieran 2025, Jesse Beason​ 2027, Lori Stegmann 2025, Julia Brim-Edwards 2025; Dist. Atty. Mike Schmidt 2025; Sheriff Nicole Morrisey-O’Donnell 2027; Auditor Jennifer McGuirk 2027; Assess. Michael Vaughn; Elections Director Tim Scott; Surv. James Clayton; Attorney Jenny Madkour