Oregon Secretary of State


Morrow County


courthouse building
The Morrow County Courthouse in Heppner. (Oregon State Archives Scenic Image​ 20070906-0913​)
County Seat: Courthouse, 100 S Court St., Heppner; PO Box 788, Heppner 97836
Phone: 541-676-5600 (General); 541-676-2529 (Court Administrator)
Fax: 541-676-5621


Established: Feb. 16, 1885
Elev. at Heppner: 1,955'
Area: 2,049 sq. mi.
Average Temp.: January 33.1° July 69.0°
Assessed Value: $2,946,622,312
Real Market Value: $8,128,742,745
(includes the value of non-taxed properties)
Annual Precipitation: 12.5"
Economy: Agriculture, food processing, dairies, utilities, forest products, livestock and recreation

Related Resources

"County QuickFacts" (population and economic data from U.S. Census Bureau)
County Seat Map (from Google Maps)
County Map (from ODOT)

Incorporated Cities

Points of Interest

Columbia River, Blue Mountains, Umatilla National Forest, Oregon Trail, Blue Mountain Scenic Byway, Morrow County Museum, Port of Morrow, Lewis and Clark Route

History and General Information 

Morrow County was created from Umatilla County in 1885 and  is located east of the Cascades in north-central Oregon. It was named for J. L. Morrow, an early resident. Morrow County contains more than one-million acres of gently rolling plains and broad plateaus. This rich agricultural land can be roughly divided into three occupational zones—increasing amounts of irrigation farming in the north, vast fields of wheat yielding to cattle ranches in the center, and timber products in the south. With the advent of center pivot irrigation technology, Morrow County became one of Oregon’s fastest growing areas by population, personal income, and agricultural and industrial development. The Port of Morrow, second largest in the state in terms of tonnage, serves as a gateway to the  Pacific Northwest and Pacific Rim markets.

County Officials

Commissioners— David Sykes 2027, Jeff Wenholz 2027, VACANT 2024; Dist. Atty. Justin Nelson 2027; Assess. Mike Gorman 2027; Clerk Bobbi Childers 2025; Justice of the Peace Glen G. Diehl 2027; Sheriff Kenneth Mat- lack 2025; Surv. Matt Kenny; Treas. Jaylene Papineau 2025​​