Marion County


state capitol lit up at night
Evening at the State Capitol with the 75th Anniversary lighting on the Capitol Mall in Salem. (Oregon State Archives Scenic Image 20131003-D8C_5754​)
County Seat: 100 High St. NE, Salem 97301
Phone: 503-588-5225 (General); 503-588-5105 (Court Administrator)
Fax: 503-373-4408


Established: July 5, 1843
Elev. at Salem: 154'
Area: 1,194 sq. mi.
Average Temp.: January 39.3°  July 66.3°
Assessed Value: $28,765,707,802
Real Market Value: $49,733,130,631
(includes the value of non-taxed properties)
Annual Precipitation: 40.35"
Economy: Government, agriculture, food processing, forest products, manufacturing, education and tourism
Oregon county map with Marion County shaded

Related Resources

"County QuickFacts" (population and economic data from U.S. Census Bureau)
County Seat Map (from Google Maps)
County Map (from ODOT) 

Incorporated Cities

Points of Interest

State Capitol, Champoeg State Park, Silver Falls State Park, The Oregon Garden, Wheatland Ferry, Buena Vista Ferry, Detroit Dam and Santiam River, Breitenbush Hot Springs, Mount Angel Abbey, food processing plants, Willamette University, Chemeketa Community College, Willamette Heritage Center, Bush House, Deepwood House, Gilbert House Children’s Museum

History and General Information 

Marion County, then called Champooick, was created by the Provisional Government in 1843, sixteen years before Oregon gained statehood. In 1849, the name was changed to Marion in honor of General Francis Marion.

The county, located in the heart of the Willamette Valley, has the Willamette River as its western boundary and the Cascade Range on the east. Salem is  the county seat and is one of the valley’s oldest cities. Among its public buildings are the Marion County Courthouse, State Capitol, Capitol Mall buildings and Salem Civic Center. The county was presided over by the Marion County Court until January 1, 1963, when the court was abolished and replaced by a Board of Commissioners.

County Officials

Commissioners—Danielle Bethell 2025, Kevin Cameron 2027, Colm Willis 2027; Dist. Atty. Paige Clarkson 2027; Assess. Tom Rohlfing 2025; Clerk Bill Burgess 2025; Justice of the Peace Justin Kidd 2029; Sheriff Nick Hunter 2025; Surv. Kent Inman; Treas. Sam Brentano 2027; CFO Janice Fritz