Oregon Secretary of State


Malheur County


canal with blue sky overhead
The Harper Southside Canal near Harper. (Oregon State Archives Scenic Image D7K_2384​)
County Seat: 251 B St. W, Vale 97918
Phone: 541-473-5151 (General); 541-473-5171 (Court Administrator)
Fax: 541-473-5523


Established: Feb. 17, 1887
Elev. at Vale: 2,243'
Area: 9,926 sq. mi.
Average Temp.: January 28.7° July 75.6°
Assessed Value: $2,438,180,064
Real Market Value: $4,312,983,540
(includes the value of non-taxed properties)
Annual Precipitation: 9.64"
Economy: Agriculture, livestock, food processing and recreation

Related Resources

"County QuickFacts" (population and economic data from U.S. Census Bureau)
County Seat Map (from Google Maps)
County Map (from ODOT) 

Incorporated Cities

Points of Interest

Oregon Trail, Keeney Pass, Owyhee Lake, Succor Creek State Park, Leslie Gulch Canyon, Jordan Craters, grave of trapper John Baptiste Charbonneau, Nyssa Agricultural Museum, Vale Oregon Trail Murals, Jordan Valley Basque Pelota Court, Four Rivers Cultural Center

History and General Information 

Malheur County was created in 1887 from Baker County. Malheur County derives its name from the “Riviere au Malheur” or “Unfortunate River” (later changed to “Malheur River”), named by French trappers whose property and furs were stolen from their river encampment.

Malheur County is a place filled with fascinating history, diverse landscape and friendly people. The landscape is enchanting and provides for a wide variety of excellent recreation such as hunting, fishing, hiking, rock climbing, rock hounding, boating and water skiing. The county is 94​% rangeland. Basques, primarily shepherds, settled in Jordan Valley in the 1890s. Irrigated fields in the county’s northeast corner, known as Western Treasure Valley, are the center of intensive and diversified farming.

County Officials

County Court—Judge Dan Joyce 2027; Ron Jacobs 2025, Jim Mendiola 2027; Dist. Atty. David M. Goldthorpe 2027; Assess. Dave Ingram 2025; Clerk Gayle Trotter 2027; Justice of the Peace Margaret (Margie) Mahony 2025; Sheriff Brian E. Wolfe 2025; Surv. Tom Edwards; Treas. Jennifer Forsyth 2027; Co. Admin. and Chief Information Officer Lorinda DuBois