Linn County


courthouse building
The Linn County Courthouse in Albany. (Oregon State Archives Photo)
County Seat: Courthouse, 300 SW Fourth Ave., Albany 97321
Phone: 541-967-3825 (General); 541-967-3802 (Court Administrator)
Fax: 541-926-8226


Population (2018): 125,575
Established: Dec. 28, 1847
Elev. at Albany: 210'
Area: 2,297 sq. mi.
Average Temp.: January 39.0°  July 65.6°
Assessed Value: $10,189,000,000
Real Market Value: $14,059,000,000 (includes the value of non-taxed properties)
Annual Precipitation: 42.55"
Economy: Agriculture, forest products, rare metals, manufacturing and recreation

Related Resources

"County QuickFacts" (population and economic data from U.S. Census Bureau)
County Seat Map (from Google Maps)
County Map (from ODOT) 

Incorporated Cities

Points of Interest

Willamette and Santiam Rivers; Foster, Green Peter and Detroit Reservoirs; Cascade Range mountains with Mount Jefferson, Hoodoo Ski Bowl and the Pacific Crest Trail; covered bridges; Fair and Expo Center; Brownsville Museum, Albany historic districts

History and General Information 

Linn County was created in 1847 and named for U.S. Senator Lewis F. Linn of Missouri, who was the author of the Donation Land Act which provided free land to settlers in the West. Linn County is in the center of the Willamette Valley, with the Willamette River as its western boundary and the crest of the Cascades as its eastern boundary. The climate and soil conditions provide one of Oregon’s most diversified agriculture areas, allowing a variety of specialty crops and leading the nation in the production of common and perennial ryegrass. Linn County is also home to major producers of processed food, manufactured homes and motor homes, as well as the traditional logging and wood products industries.

Recreational opportunities are extensive and include hiking, climbing and skiing, picnicking and camping in county and state parks; boating, water skiing and fishing on lakes and rivers; petrified wood and agate beds; covered bridges and historic districts and events.

County Officials

Commissioners—John K. Lindsey (R) 2023, Roger Nyquist (R) 2021, William Tucker (R) 2021; Dist. Atty. Douglas Marteeny 2021; Assess. Andy Stevens 2023; Clerk Steven Druckenmiller 2023; Judge Jessica K. Meyer 2021; Sheriff Jim Yon 2023; Surv. Charles Gibbs 2021; Treas. Michelle Hawkins 2021; Co. Admin. Ralph Wyatt