Harney County


reflection of trees and sunset on lake
Sunset at Delintment Lake along Forest Service road NF 41 in the Blue Mountains. (Oregon State Archives Scenic Image 20170925-0974​)
County Seat: Courthouse, 450 N Buena Vista Ave., Burns 97720
Phone: 541-573-6641 (General); 541-573-5207 (Court Administrator)
Fax: 541-573-8370


Established: Feb. 25, 1889
Elev. at Burns: 4,118'
Area: 10,228 sq. mi.
Average Temp.: January 27.5°  July 69.4°
Assessed Value: $674,582,043
Real Market Value: $1,720,599,425
(includes the value of non-taxed properties)
Annual Precipitation: 10.13"
Economy: Forest products, manufacturing, livestock and agriculture

Related Resources

Oregon county map with Harney County shaded
"County QuickFacts" (population and economic data from U.S. Census Bureau-enter county name)
County Seat Map (from Google Maps)
County Map (from ODOT) 

Incorporated Cities

Points of Interest

Steens Mountain, Malheur National Wildlife Refuge, Alvord Desert, Alvord Hot Springs, Eastern Oregon Agricultural Research Center, “P” Ranch Round Barn, Frenchglen, Wild Horse Corrals, Delintment Lake, Yellowjacket Lake

History and General Information 

​Harney has more land inside its boundaries than​ any county in Oregon. It was carved out of Grant County in 1889 and named for Major General William S. Harney, commander of the Department of Oregon, U.S. Army, from 1858–1859. ​

A fierce political battle, with armed night riders who spirited county records from Harney to Burns, ended with Burns as the county seat in 1890. The courthouse was constructed five years later. Burns’ first newspaper was established in 1884, and its first church was established in 1887.

Harney County shares the largest Ponderosa Pine forest in the nation with Grant County and has more than 100,000 beef cattle on its vast ranges. Its abundance of game, campsites, excellent fishing and bird watching have stimulated fast-growing recreational activities.

County Officials

County Court—Judge Bill Hart 2027; Pat Dorroh 2025, Kristen Shelman 2025; Dist. Atty. Ryan Hughes 2025; Assess. Karen Zabala 2025; Clerk Derrin (Dag) Robinson 2025; Justice of the Peace Vicky Clemens 2025; Sheriff Dan Jenkins 2025; Surv. Kenny Delano; Treas. Bobbi Jo Heany 2027​