Douglas County


river with trees on riverbanks
The North Umpqua River from North Bank Road. (Oregon State Archives Photo)
County Seat: Courthouse, 1036 SE Douglas Ave., Roseburg 97470
Phone: 541-672-3311 (General); 541-957-2409 (Court Administrator)
Fax: 541-440-6292


Population (2020): 112,530​
Established: Jan. 7, 1852
Elev. at Roseburg: 475'
Area: 5,071 sq. mi.
Average Temp.: January 41.2° July 68.4°
Assessed Value: $10,450,297,513
Real Market Value: $17,210,293,664
(includes the value of non-taxed properties)
Annual Precipitation: 33.35"
Economy: Forest products, mining, agriculture, fishing and recreation

Related Resources

Oregon county map with Douglas County shaded
"County QuickFacts" (population and economic data from U.S. Census Bureau)
County Seat Map (from Google Maps)
County Map (from ODOT)

Incorporated Cities

Points of Interest

Winchester Bay, Salmon Harbor, Oregon Dunes National Recreation Area, North Umpqua River, Diamond Lake, historic Oakland, Wildlife Safari, Douglas County Museum, wineries

History and General Information

Douglas County was named for U.S. Senator Stephen A. Douglas, Abraham Lincoln’s opponent in the presidential election of 1860 and an ardent congressional advocate for Oregon. Douglas County was created in 1852 from the portion of Umpqua County which lay east of the Coast Range summit. In 1862, Douglas County absorbed what remained of Umpqua County.

Douglas County extends from sea level at the Pacific Ocean to 9,182-foot Mount Thielsen in the Cascade Range. The Umpqua River marks the dividing line between northern and southern Oregon, and its entire watershed lies within the county’s boundaries. The county contains nearly 2.8 million acres of commercial forest lands and the largest stand of old growth timber in the world, which still provides the region’s main livelihood. Approximately 25% of the labor force is employed in the forest products industry. Agriculture includes field crops, orchards and livestock. Over 50% of the land area of the county is federal public land.

County Officials

Commissioners—Chris Boice 2023, Tim Freeman 2023, Tom Kress 2023; Dist. Atty. Richard Wesenberg 2025; Assess. Heather Coffel 2023; Clerk Daniel J. Loomis 2025; Justices of the Peace Machelle Briggs-Mayfield 2025 & Kathleen Miller 2025; Sheriff John Hanlin 2025; Surv. Kris DeGroot 2023; Treas. Samuel W. Lee 2025