Coos County


rocky beach and dark clouds overhead
The beach at Seven Devils State Park. (Oregon State Archives Scenic Image 20150930-7461​​)
County Seat: Courthouse, 250 N Baxter, Coquille 97423
Phone: 541-396-7500 (General)
Fax: 541-396-1010


Established: Dec. 22, 1853
Elev. at Coquille: 40'
Area: 1,629 sq. mi.
Average Temp.: January 44.2°  July 60.9°
Assessed Value: $6,201,360,487
Real Market Value: $9,381,043,665
(includes the value of non-taxed properties)
Annual Precipitation: 56.8"
Economy: Forest products, tourism, fishing and agriculture dominate the Coos County economy. Boating, dairy farming, myrtlewood manufacturing, shipbuilding and repair, and agriculture specialty products, including cranberries, also play an important role. ​

Related Resources

Oregon county map with Coos County shaded
"County QuickFacts" (population and economic data from U.S. Census Bureau)
County Seat Map (from G​oogle Maps)
County Map (from ODOT)

Incorporated Cities​

Points of Interest

Lumber port, myrtlewood groves, Shore Acres State Park and Botanical Gardens, beaches, Oregon Dunes National Recreation Area, museums, fishing fleets, boat basins, scenic golf courses

History and General Information 

Coos County was created by the Territorial Legislature from parts of Umpqua and Jackson counties in 1853 and included Curry County until 1855. The county seat was Empire City until 1896 when it was moved to Coquille. Although trappers had been in the area a quarter century earlier, the first permanent settlement in present day Coos County was established at Empire City, now part of Coos Bay, by members of the Coos Bay Company in 1853. The name “Coos” derives from the Coos Tribe.

The International Port of Coos Bay, considered the best natural harbor between Puget Sound and San Francisco, is the world’s largest forest products shipping port.

County Officials

Commissioners—Chair John Sweet 2027, Melissa Cribbins 2023, Robert (Bob) Main 2025; Dist. Atty. Paul R. Frasier 2025; Assess. Steve Jansen 2025; Clerk Julie Brecke 2027; Sheriff Gabe Fabrizio 2027; Surv. Michael Dado 2025; Treas. Megan Simms 2025