Baker County

Lake boardered by fir trees with 3 mountain peaks in back. Mountains have slight dusting of snow.
Anthony Lake in the Elkhorn Mountains. (Oregon State Archives Scenic Image D7K_7303)


​​County Seat: 1995 Third St., Baker City 97814
Phone: 541-523-8203 (General); 541-523-8207 (County Clerk)
Fax: 541-523-8240


Established: Sept. 22, 1862
Elev. at Baker City: 3,471'
Area: 3,089 sq. mi.
Average Temp.: January 25.2° July 66.6°
Assessed Value: $1,850,951,018
Real Market Value: $3,245,165,070 (includes the value of non-taxed properties)
Annual Precipitation: 10.63"
Economy: Agriculture, forest products, manufacturing and recreation

Related Resources

"County QuickFacts" (population and economic data from U.S. Census Bureau)
County Seat Map (from Google Maps)
County Map (from ODOT) 

Incorporated Cities

Points of Interest

The Oregon Trail Interpretive Center and Old Oregon Trail, Sumpter Gold Dredge Park and ghost towns, Sumpter Valley Railroad, Baker City Restored Historic District (including Geiser Grand Hotel), Anthony Lakes Ski Resort, Eagle Cap Wilderness area, Brownlee, Oxbow and Hells Canyon Reservoirs, Hells Canyon.

History and General Information 

Baker County was established from part of Wasco County and named after Colonel Edward D. Baker, a U.S. Senator from Oregon. A Union officer and close friend of President Lincoln, Colonel Baker was the only member of Congress to die in the Civil War. He was killed at Ball’s Bluff, Virginia. Auburn, which no longer exists, was the first county seat. Baker City became the county seat in 1868 and was incorporated in 1874.

Before 1861, the majority of immigrants only paused in Baker County on their way west, unaware of its vast agricultural and mineral resources. Then the great gold rush began, and Baker County became one of the Northwest’s largest gold producers. Farming, ranching, logging and recreation have become the chief economic bases for an area that displays spectacular scenery, including the world’s deepest gorge, Hells Canyon; an outstanding museum with the famous Cavin-Walfel rock collection; and numerous historic buildings with interesting architectural features.

County Officials

Commissioners—Shane Alderson 2027; Bruce Nichols 2025, Christina Witham, 2027; Dist. Atty. Greg M. Baxter 2025; Assess. Kerry Savage 2025; Clerk Stefanie Kirby 2027; Justice of the Peace Brent Kerns 2023; Sheriff Travis Ash 2025; Surv. Tom Hanley 2025; Treas. Alice Durflinger 2027; Co. Admin. Christena Cook; Chief Information Officer Bill Lee​