2013 Notary Updates

under the “What’s New” section.

There are many changes to Notary this year. A new set of statutes, as well as applicable changes to the rules, will go
into effect on September 1, 2013. We've created this document to help you track the most important changes from
the old system. Some items have simply been changed, some updated, and others have been added. This table is
broken into 3 sections: What it was; What it is Now; and What’s New. There are more changes than are listed in this
document, so please feel free to review all of the new statutes and rules on our website at: www.filinginoregon.com

What it Was What it is Now

Identification Documents: (ORS 194.515(8)(a-f))
e Has to be current.
e Driver License or ID card, any state.
e U.S. or Foreign (recognized) passport.
o Bookor Card
e U.S. Military ID cards.
o ID card from a federally recognized Indian Tribe.
e U.S. government issued ID (state, county,
municipal) with: Picture, Physical Description &
Signature

Credible Witness: (ORS 194.515(6)(b))
e Personally known by notary
e Personally knows signer

Journal:
e PaperJournal, 1 journal at a time. (ORS 194.152(1))
e Retention Schedule: 7 years from expiration date
of last commission in which there are entries.
(OAR 160-100-0310)
e Address of signer recommended. (Best practice-
Notary guidebook)

Official Notary Seal: (OAR 160-100-0100(2))
e Official seal had to be in black ink only.
e Notary may only have one Official Seal (unless
Duplicate Seal Request submitted and approved by
Notary Office)
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Identification Documents: (Sect. 6(2)(a), Ch. 219, Oregon
Laws 2013)

e Can be expired up to 3 years before the date of
notarization.

e Driver License or ID card from any state, or

o Driver Instructional Permit, Provisional,
or Limited Term Driver License.
o Or Non-expired, Temporary Driver
License or ID card.
e U.S. or Foreign (recognized) passport.
o Bookor Card

e U.S. Military ID cards.

o ID from a federally recognized Indian tribe.

e U.S. government issued ID (any) with: Picture &
Signature only.

Credible Witness: (Sect. 6(2)(b), Ch. 219, Oregon Laws 2013)

e Personally known by notary, or identified by
notary using one of the acceptable identification
documents listed above.

e Personally knows signer. (All other requirements
apply as before.)

Journal: (Sect. 18, Ch. 219, Oregon Laws 2013) (OAR 160-100-
0200 & 0210)

e Paper or Electronic Journal, or both. May have
more than one journal at a time (each must be in
chronological order). (Electronic journals must be
accessible by the Secretary of State upon request.)

e Retention Schedule: 10 years from the date of the
last notarization in the journal.

e Contact address for signer required.

Official Notary Stamp (no longer called a seal) (Sect. 2, Ch.
219, Oregon Laws 2013 & OAR 160-100-0100 & 0120)

e The stamp has to be reproducible if copied. Black
or dark ink is recommended, not required. The
stamp can also be electronic, for use with
electronic notarizations only.

e May have more than one stamp. You are
responsible for securing the stamp(s) from
tampering or fraudulent use.
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Notary Database: (no statute or rule provision)

e The Secretary of State maintains a database of
notaries who choose to advertise their services
with our office. The database includes information
provided by the notary.

Notarizing for Relatives:
e No statute or rule prohibits notarizing for relatives,
but the Secretary of State recommends not to.

Qualifications: (ORS 194.022)

e Must be a resident of this state, or an adjacent
state, and be employed in or carry on a trade in
Oregon.

e Not have a commission revoked within 5 years of
date of application.

e Secretary of State may conduct a criminal
background check.

Exam Process: (No exemptions)

e If education is completed through the Secretary of
State’s online tutorial the exam is taken online.

e All other forms of training, including in-person
seminars, will require a paper exam to accompany
the application.

e Reapplying notaries with a current commission
must submit a paper exam with their application.

Notary’s Official Signature: (OAR 160-100-0030)
e The legal signature signed in the Oath on the
application. The signature should be the notary’s
legal signature as proven by ID.

Notario Publico: (ORS 194.162(5))

e A notary public may not use the term “Notario
Publico,” or any non-English equivalent.
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Notary Database: (Sect. 23, Ch. 219, Oregon Laws 2013)

e The Secretary of State shall maintain an electronic
database of notaries public:

o The list will contain all notaries.

o The list will indicate if the notary has
notified the Secretary of State that they
use electronic notarizations.

o List will only include commission
information, and no other information,
such as languages known or possession of
an embosser.

Notarizing for Relatives: (Sect. 3, Ch. 219, Oregon laws 2013)

e Notaries may not notarize for spouses, and may
not notarize anything in which their spouses are
named, or may directly benefit from.

Qualifications: (Sect. 20, Ch. 219, Oregon Laws 2013)

e Be aresident of Oregon, or have a place of
employment or practice in Oregon. (Can be a
resident anywhere.) Will have to provide
employer information if not a resident of Oregon.

e Not have a commission revoked within 10 years of
date of application.

e Secretary of State will conduct a criminal
background on all applications.

Exam Process: (No Exemptions)

e Exams must be taken through our online system. If
the training is completed through an in-person
seminar, or other education provider, the
applicant/notary will go online, create a log-in, and
input the applicable education ID # before being
directed to the online exam.

e If a notary is reapplying, and has a current
commission, the process is the same as above,
except the notary will enter their current active
commission number (which will be verified by the
system through our database).

Notary Official Signature: (OAR 160-100-0030)

e Legal signature that the applicant signs on the
Oath of Office in front of a notary. (Signature must
match the applicant’s signature on their ID.)

Notario Publico: (Sect. 24(3), Ch. 219, OR Laws 2013)
e A notary public, other than an attorney licensed
to practice law, may not use the term “notario”
or “notario publico.”



2013 Notary Updates

Application Process:

Application Process:

A paper application form is submitted, with the
Oath of Office at the bottom of the form, which is
notarized. Application is submitted with the $S40
processing fee (and exam if applicable).

Once the commission is processed, paper
certificates are printed and mailed to the notary.
The notary takes the original Certificate of
Authorization to a vendor to have the Official Seal
made (only 1 seal allowed). Notary returns the
completed Certificate of Authorization with an
imprint of the seal for filing.

Secretary of State Notary Fees:

$40 application processing fee.
Amendment fees: $10:
o Commission Name Change
o Request for Certificate of Authorization
o Request for Duplicate Commission
Certificate
o Request for Duplicate Seal

Notary Name: (OAR 160-100-0020)

Commission name: Legal name. Office policy
allowed for a first or middle initial in lieu of the
first or middle name only. Allowed for shortened
versions of names (i.e. Chris for Christopher, but
not nicknames like Kathy for Kathryn.)

Legal Name: Full legal name with no initials or
shortened versions.
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The applicant, after completing the training and
exam, will continue on through the online system
to the application portion. The applicant inputs the
required information and submits it online (no fee
at this point).

If the application is approved, an email is sent to
the applicant with a PDF attachment of the Oath of
Office. (The Oath is valid for 45 days; if it expires
before it is received in the filing office, you must
apply again.)

The applicant must sign the Oath of Office in front
of a notary, and then submit it to our office with
the $40 processing fee. (Submit as the application
was done previously.)

Once the Oath has been filed by the filing office,
an email will be sent to the notary with PDF
attachment files of the Certificate of Authorization
and the Commission Certificate. (These will not be
reproduced if the notary does not receive the
email, or accidentally deletes or loses it. If this
happens, you may call our office at: 503-986-2200
for further direction.)

The notary may take, or send via electronic means,
the Certificate of Authorization to a maker of
rubber stamps. The notary may have more than
one stamp made, but is responsible for securing
those stamps from tampering or fraudulent use.
The notary will not return the Certificate of
Authorization with an impression to our office.

Secretary of State Notary Fees:

$40 Oath of Office processing fee.
Amendment fees, none.

Notary Name: (OAR 160-100-0020)

Legal name as proven on identification. You will
enter your name as it appears on your ID in the
application online, and that is how it will print on
the Oath of Office. The full legal name (as proven
by your ID and verified by the notary) will be your
commission name, which will appear on your
notary stamp.
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Updating Notary Information: Forms Updating Notary Information: Forms
e Amendment forms: e Amendment forms:
o Address Change Form o Notary Information Change, used for:
o Commission Name Change Form =  Commission name & signature
o Legal Name Change Form change, must be notarized.
o Waiver of Fees Form = Current commission signature
o Request for Certificate Form change, must be notarized.
=  Commission Certificate, and =  Public contact address change, or
= Certificate of Authorization to employer address change for non-
Obtain Official Seal resident notaries only.
o Request for Duplicate Seal Form * Email address change.
o Journal Location Form =  Fee waiver (for waiver & rescission
o Commission Resignation Form of waiver).
o Commission Resignation due to Death o Missing Stamp, Certificate or Journal, used
Form for:
e Other: submitted via a letter of some type. = Request new Certificate of

Authorization (if email is lost).
= Notify that stamp is missing,
damaged or stolen, and to request
a new Certificate of Authorization.
= Notify that journal has been lost,
stolen or damaged.
o Termination of Notary Public Commission
= Resignhation of commission, or
= Death or Incapacity
e Other: submitted via a letter of some type.
e Electronic Notarization Notice
o See Electronic Notarizations below
Electronic Notarizations: (Section 19 of HB 2834)( OAR 160-100-0140)

e Oregon notaries may now notarize documents electronically. In order to begin notarizing this way you must first
inform the Secretary of State of the format you will be using.

e You must send notice via email, using the Electronic Notarization Notice form, along with an example of an
electronic notarization.

e If you change the way you notarize electronically (new vendor, new technology, changed appearance), you must
notify us of the change, using the same notice form.

e The electronic notarization policy has many components, and we suggest you familiarize yourself with the rules
completely. The notarizations will include electronic signatures and an electronic stamp (stamp must comply
with OAR 160-100-0100(1)). The notary may document an electronic notarization in either a paper or electronic
journal, or both (see the journal rules).

Signature by Proxy (3™ Party Signer)
e Allows a disabled (permanent or temporary) signer to have a proxy (or 3™ party) sign on their behalf in the
notary’s presence. (Section 8 Ch 219 Oregon Laws 2013)
e Adetailed process will be available in the Notary Guidebook (replaces the previous Notarization by Mark
section)
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