\$40.00 Application Fee Please make checks payable to "Corporation Division".

Processing Fees are nonrefundable.

Notary Public Oualifica

Secretary of State - Corporation Division - 255 Capitol St. NE, Suite 151 - Salem, OR 97310-1327 - sos.oregon.gov/business- Phone: (503) 986-2200 Fax number: (503) 986-2300

To be a notary public in Oregon, you must meet certain qualifications at the time of application (ORS 194.315):

Be 18 years of age or older.

Be a resident of Oregon or have a place of employment or practice in this state.

Be able to read and write English.

Not have had a notary public commission revoked during the 10-year period preceding the date of this application.

Complete a notary training course within the last 6 months.

Note: Not required of current Oregon notaries with an active commission at the time the new application is received in our office.

Not have been convicted of a felony or of any crime involving fraud, dishonesty or deceit during the 10-year period preceding the date of this application.

Pass the Secretary of State's Notary Public examination.

You must meet the qualifications listed above to be a notary public in Oregon.

\$40.00 Application Fee

Notary Public Commission Application

Secretary of State - Corporation Division - 255 Capitol St. NE, Suite 151 - Salem, OR 97310-1327 - sos.oregon.gov/business - Phone: (503) 986-2200 Fax

number: (503) 986-2300



IN KEEPING WITH OREGON REVISED STATUTE 192.410-192.595, THE INFORMATION ON THIS APPLICATION IS PUBLIC RECORD.

1. FULL LEGAL NAME (AS PROVEN BY ID):					
2. DATE OF BIRTH:			Public Records Address will be available upon request.		
3. CURRENT COMMISSION NUMBER: (If applicable)					
4. PUBLIC RECORDS ADDRESS:					
CITY, STATE, ZIP:					
5. EMAIL ADDRESS: (You will receive your certificates by emai (Please make sure your spam folder accepts mail from our or					
6. TELEPHONE NUMBER:					
7. NOTARY EDUCATION ID NUMBER: (If applicable)					
8. HAVE YOU HAD A NOTARY COMMISSION REVOKED FOR O	FFICIAL M	ISCONDUC	T? YES	NO	
9. HAVE YOU HAD A FELONY CONVICTION OR ANY CRIME IN WITHIN THE LAST 10 YEARS?	VOLVING	FRAUD, DIS	SHONESTY O	R DECEIT	YES NO
OATH OF OFFICE (Applicant must sign before a notary public)					
I,, (Applicant's Commisperjury, that the answers to all questions on this application are PERSONALLY, have completed the notarial examination to the application is my consent for a criminal record investigation purappointment, I will support the Constitution and laws of the Ur the duties of a Notary Public in and for the State of Oregon according to the constitution of the State of Oregon according to the constitution and the state of Oregon according to the constitution and the state of Oregon according to the constitution and the state of Oregon according to the constitution and the state of Oregon according to the constitution and the state of Oregon according to the constitution and the state of Oregon according to the constitution and the state of Oregon according to the constitution and the state of Oregon according to the constitution and the state of Oregon according to the constitution and the state of Oregon according to the constitution and the state of Oregon according to the constitution and the state of Oregon according to the constitution and the state of Oregon according to the constitution and the state of Oregon according to the constitution and the constitution and the constitution and the constitution and the constitution according to the constitution and the cons	e true and best of more rsuant to nited State	I complete y ability. I u ORS 194.3 es and the S	to the best o nderstand th 70. I do solem State of Oreg	f my knowled; at my signatu nnly (swear) (a	ge, andI, Ire on the notarial affirm) that upon
Applicant's Official Signature (as proven by ID)	State of:			unty of:) (affirmed) be	efore me,
		(N	otary Public's	Printed Nam	e)
	by	(A)	(Applicant's Commission Name)		
	this	(day)	day of	(month)	(year)

OPEN BOOK EXAMINATION

The answers to all questions can be found in the Oregon Notary Guidebook and the 2013 Oregon Revised Statutes and Oregon Administrative Rules. The Open Book Examination is required for applicants regardless of current commission status. You must not miss more than FOUR of the twenty questions. You may retake the test as many times as necessary to pass.

TRUE OR FALSE - MARK THE APPROPRIATE BOX.

<u>True</u> <u>False</u> 1	L. An Oregon Notary Public is required to be bonded.	<u>True</u> <u>False</u> 2. A notary can notarize his or her own signature.				
<u>True</u> <u>False</u> 3	3. When using an attachment certificate a complete imprint must be on the certificate. A second imprint may overlap the signature page and certificate as a protection device.	True False 4. The official stamp shall not be placed over any signature in a document to be notarized or in a notarial certificate, nor over any writing in a notarial certificate.				
<u>True</u> <u>False</u> 5	5. Notaries must sign the certificate exactly as on file with the Secretary of State.	<u>True</u> <u>False</u> 6. The commission, journal and stamp belong to the employer if the employer pays for all of it.				
<u>True</u> <u>False</u> 7	The notary can charge less than the statutorily stated fee.	<u>True</u> <u>False</u> 8. The notary must personally know the credible witness.				
True False 9	 A non-attorney notary may give legal advice on how to complete a document. 	True False 10. The official stamp of a notary public may be in any color ink that is legible and reproducible.				
	MULTIPLE CHOICE - MAR	RK THE ONE APPROPRIATE BOX				
	ate driver license, state ID, U.S. military and foreign passports, what is o?"	12. How long does a notary have to notify the Secretary of State of a change in their legal name during their commission?				
	that shows a picture and provides a	1) Within 30 days.				
	cument issued by the state or	2) Within 60 days.				
3) ID issued l is current	overnment. by a U.S. governmental agency that or expired not more than 3 years des a photo and signature.	3) Within 90 days.				
	have the right to refuse a notarization?	14. Where can an Oregon notary perform a notarial act?				
1) No, the no	otary must notarize when asked.	1) Only in the county they live in.				
2) Yes, unless the employer requires it.		2) Anywhere in the United States as long as it is				
3) Yes, as lor for the re	ng as there are appropriate reasons fusal.	an Oregon document.3) Only within the bounds of Oregon.				
	notary's term of office?	16. What should a notary public do with their stamp once their commission expires?				
(1) 2 years		1) Keep it in a safe, secure location.				
(2) 4 years		2) Send it in to the Secretary of State's office.				
3) 10 years		3) Destroy it.				
•	ed for an Oregon Notarial Certificate?	18. Does a notary public have to look at the entire document or just the page that is being signed?				
	, notarial act, notary's signature	1) Just the page where the signer is signing.				
	o. otarization, notary's signature and	2) The entire document to make sure it is complete.				
stamp. (3) Notary's s	ignature and stamp.	3) The document is private; the notary is only concerned with the signer.				
19. Upon expiration may destroy t	on of the notary's commission a notary he journal:	20. What type of journal is required for an Oregon notary?				
1) At any tim	ne.	1) An electronic journal.				
	eiving authorization from the	2) A bound paper journal.				
Secretary (3) Ten years	of State. after the last entry was made.	3) Either an electronic journal, or bound paper journal or both.				
		4) A notary does not have to keep a journal.				