

Molly Woon Division Director



ELECTORAL COLLEGE INFORMATION

The Electoral College is the body of electors who meet after a presidential election to select the next President and Vice-President of the United States. All the Electoral College members elected throughout the country will meet in their respective states on December 17, 2024, to cast their votes (the first Tuesday after the second Wednesday).

Under the provisions of the US Constitution, voters who participate in the presidential election choose the members of the Electoral College. A voter who casts a vote for a presidential candidate is not voting directly for the candidate, but is, instead, casting a vote for a slate of electors who pledged their support for that candidate. Some States require Electors to cast their votes according to the popular vote. In Oregon, a candidate for elector must sign a pledge form that if elected the candidate will vote in the Electoral College for the candidates of the party.

Pursuant to ORS 248.355, each political party nominating candidates for President and Vice President selects a number of candidates equal to the number of US Representatives and US Senators - which is 8 for Oregon (two US senators and six US representatives). The party certifies the names of the selected candidates for elector to the Secretary of State not later than the 70th day before the election of electors. Each major and minor political party follows their party rules for selecting the electors. The Secretary of State does not have jurisdiction to enforce those party rules.

To be elected to the presidency, a candidate must receive a majority of the Electoral College votes cast (at least 270 votes). A separate vote is taken to elect the vice president. If no presidential candidate receives a majority of the Electoral College votes cast, the US House of Representatives chooses the president from the candidates who came in first, second and third in the Electoral College vote. The selection is made by a vote of the state delegations in the House, with each delegation allotted one vote.

The list of presidential electors selected by the parties is printed on the next page.



2024 PRESIDENTIAL ELECTORS

- **Constitution |** Robert Fulton Ekstrom Tamera K Mahaffey Robert Mahaffey Michael Marsh
- Democratic | Angelo Arredondo Baca Rosa Colquitt Kate Flanagan Laura Gillpatrick
- **Libertarian** | Fredrick M Brick Kathryn L Brumbelow Thomas J Busse Joseph W Christman
- **Pacific Green** | Madeline J Martin-Adams Michael A Beilstein James N Dashiell Justin E Filip
 - Progressive | Heidi Pearson Bazille William Bold David Delk David Hess
 - **Republican** Gabriel Michael Buehler Helen R Heller Stephen J Joncus Dan C Mason
- We The People | Ashley Atkinson Paula Bryant-Trerise Marla R Dimick Elizabeth Graser-Lindsey

- Roger C Shipman Merry R Shipman Luke C Shipman Hannah J Shipman
- Michael Radway Kim Schmith Nathan Joseph Soltz Jerred Taylor
- William S Hobson Deanna M Kallen **Christopher J Peters** Thomas Ruks
- Joseph A Meyer Nora E Newman Marjorie E Stevens Seth A Woolley
- Gregory Kafourty Jason Kafourty Christina Lugo Thomas Authur Thomas
- Jo Rae Perkins **Donald J Powers** Angelita N Sanchez Tyler D Smith
- Jonathan B Handley Deanna Hoover Zenana-Renee Rose Paul N Thomas