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MEASURE NO.

INCREASES HIGHEST CORPORATE MINIMUM TAXES; DISTRIBUTES
REVENUE TO ELIGIBLE INDIVIDUALS; STATE REPLACES REDUCED
FEDERAL BENEFITS

Submitted to the Electorate of Oregon by Initiative Petition to be voted on at
the General Election, November 5, 2024.

Explanation

Ballot Measure __increases the corporate minimum tax for any corporation
with annual Oregon sales of over $25 million, as reported on a tax return for the
year. The revenue from the tax increase will be used to provide equal tax rebates
or cash payments to eligible individuals living in Oregon. The increase to the
corporate minimum tax is three percent of the corporation’s annual Oregon sales
over $25 million.

The measure applies to “C,” “B,” and other corporations which generally pay
income or excise taxes, and to “S” corporations, which generally do not directly pay
corporation-level taxes. Currently, corporations other than S corporations must pay
either a tax based on the corporation’s taxable income, or the applicable corporate
minimum tax, whichever is larger. The corporate minimum tax currently ranges from
$150 to $100,000 per year, based on the amount of a corporation’s Oregon sales.
For example, a corporation, other than an S corporation, with annual Oregon sales
between $25 million and $50 million pays a minimum tax of $30,000 per year.
Current law caps the minimum tax at $100,000 per year for corporations with
Oregon sales of $100 million or more. Under current law, an Oregon S corporation

pays $150 annually, without regard to sales.
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Measure __ imposes a tax increase on corporations, including S
corporations, with Oregon sales of over $25 million per year, in the amount of three
percent of Oregon sales over $25 million. This is in addition to current corporate
minimum taxes.

Measure __ requires the increase in corporate minimum tax revenue to be
rebated in equal amounts to any individuals who have lived in Oregon for 200 days
during the previous calendar year with exceptions for births and deaths. Individuals
with eligible dependents or wards receive the rebates for those dependents and
wards. The Department of Revenue (DOR) determines the amount available for
rebate each year.

The measure states that (1) revenue from unclaimed rebates would carry
over to the following year and (2) for rebates which are declined, the legislature must
allocate the money not rebated to services for senior citizens, health care, public
early childhood education and public kindergarten through grade 12 education.

Rebates paid under this measure are not subject to state tax and do not affect
eligibility for state benefit programs. It is unknown whether some cash payments
might affect federal tax liability. The measure directs the Department of Human
Services to seek waivers from the federal government for recipients who participate
in specified federal benefit programs, so that their benefits are not decreased. If the
federal government denies waivers, the measure directs the DOR to reimburse
federal benefit program participants for the reduction in their benefits.
Reimbursements are to be funded only by revenues from the tax increase imposed
by the measure.

The measure provides direction on administration and rebate eligibility, and
continuously appropriates funding to the DOR for administration.

The measure applies to 2025 and later tax years and authorizes rebates to

be paid beginning in 2026.




