May 30, 2013 - We had reports of a solicitation from a company called Corporate Regulatory Committee that many Oregon businesses report to be "confusing," “deceptive” or “a scam.”
Example of mailing
The solicitation cites Oregon Law, warns of potential administrative dissolution if action is not taken by a specified date, and offers to file the renewal with the Secretary of State Corporation Division (for a fee of $238) as the business’ agent. In one example, the solicitation requested fees and a response from the business a full year before the annual report was required to be filed.
This solicitation uses carefully worded language to attempt to avoid violating state or federal laws. In a typical example, for $238 the Corporate Regulatory Committee will pay the required $100 fee to the Secretary of State Corporation Division to complete the annual report filing, and keep the balance for providing the service.
If you paid this company to file your annual report with the Secretary of State Corporation Division, you should immediately contact the Oregon Department of Justice, Financial Fraud and Consumer Protection Section.
How to Take Action
1. Don't reply to the Corporate Regulatory Committee solicitation or send money.
The annual report filing fee for an Oregon Corporation or LLC is just $100 per year when paid directly to the State of Oregon. Do not use expensive third-party services to complete a simple transaction you can do yourself.
2. Verify when your business registration is due for renewal.
Use the Secretary of State Corporation Division’s Business Name Search to find your business name online. If your business registration is due for renewal, you will see the due date and an option to Renew Online by credit card.
3. Renew directly with the Secretary of State Corporation Division.
We made the process of renewing your business registration easy and convenient. Please use one of the following methods:
Renew Online Option
is safe, and the fastest way to renew your business registration.
Renew by Mail Option
45 days prior to the anniversary date, we will mail an annual report to your business mailing address.
Contact Us with Questions
We are here to help. Please call us at 503-986-2200, or email CorporationDivision.SOS@oregon.gov