About the Assumed Business Name Renewal Service Offer
We had numerous reports of a solicitation from a company called Assumed Business Name Renewal Service perceived by many Oregon businesses to be confusing, deceptive or a scam. This solicitation warns of pending assumed business name expiration, cites Oregon law, and offers to prepare and file all necessary documents to renew the business name with the Secretary of State Corporation Division for a fee of $100. See an example of this solicitation (PDF).
This solicitation uses carefully worded language to avoid violating any known state or federal laws. In a typical example, for $100 this company will forward the required $50 fee to the Corporation Division to complete the two-year renewal, and keep the balance for providing the service.
If you paid this company to perform the renewal service for you and they failed to complete the renewal with the Corporation Division, then you should immediately contact the Oregon Department of Justice, Financial Fraud and Consumer Protection Section.
Steps to Take If You Receive a Confusing Solicitation
1. Don't reply to the solicitation or send any money.
Assumed Business Name registrations are renewed every two years for a fee of $50 payable to the Corporation Division. We don't believe anyone should ever have to pay extra or use a third-party service to complete this simple transaction. Save yourself the extra money renewing directly with the Corporation Division.
2. Verify when your business registration is due for renewal.
Use our official Business Name Search to check status of your business online. If your assumed business name registration is due for renewal, you will see the due date and an option to Renew Online by credit card.
3. Renew directly with the Corporation Division.
We have made the process of renewing your business registration easy and convenient. Stop by in person or use one of the following methods:
Renew Online Option
The option to Renew Online is safe and the fastest way to renew your assumed business name registration.
Renew by Mail Option
Forty-five days prior to the anniversary date, the Corporation Division will mail an Application for Renewal (PDF) to the business mailing address.